Knitting Ministry

While prayer shawls are our first love, we continue to seek new ways in which we can share our talents with the larger community. One of our earliest ventures was support for the Christmas at Sea program, sponsored by Seamen’s Church Institute.  Since the Spanish American War in 1898, this mission of the Episcopal Church has been distributing hand knit garments to mariners who are far from home at the holiday season. The knit garments are symbols of SCI’s mission of hospitality.  At Trinity, we make hats, scarves and cowls to support this program.

Closer to home, we’ve been making items for the Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY).  The receiving blankets, baby hats and booties support the Nurse Family Partnership program that serves pregnant and newborn mothers. Hats, mittens and scarves for older children become part of the FRIENDS program which serves children who are either receiving care themselves or who have a family member who is receiving services from VNSNY.

 We are also part of a nation-wide program that focuses on preventing child abuse, known as the "purple hat" project. The program is sponsored by  clickforbabies.org  and was developed to help new parents understand and cope with the leading trigger for infant abuse: frustration with infant crying. Helping caregivers to understand this normal part of an infant’s development (which usually disappears by four months) is a key to preventing Shaken Baby Syndrome. Infant sized purple hats are made for hospitals in our state to distribute to all children born in the months of November and December.

We welcome all skill levels from beginners to expert.  If you haven't practiced your craft in some time,  we can help you refresh your talents and we have patterns for simple projects to help you get started again.  If you haven’t learned a needle skill in the past, we'll teach you!  And we’re always happy to accept donated materials – just bring them to a meeting or to a Sunday coffee hour (10:45 AM, Parish Hall).

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, April 23:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, April 25:
Tuesday, April 30:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, May 2:
Tuesday, May 7:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, May 9:
Saturday, May 11:
Entertainment and Dinner to benefit Hand in Hand Music School - Grace Lutheran Church; call 201-858-4460, Ext. for tickets Read more
Tuesday, May 14:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, May 16:
Tuesday, May 21:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, May 23:
Tuesday, May 28:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, May 30:
Tuesday, June 4:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, June 6:
Tuesday, June 11:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, June 13:
Tuesday, June 18:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, June 20:
Tuesday, June 25:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, June 27:
Tuesday, July 2:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, July 4:
Tuesday, July 9:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, July 11:
Tuesday, July 16:
Community support group. All are welcome Read more
Thursday, July 18: